Birmingham Airport Car Park 5 (formerly Long Stay 1) reviews

Birmingham Airport Car Park 5 (formerly Long Stay 1) logo

Here are some comments that our customers have made about Birmingham Airport Car Park 5 (formerly Long Stay 1)

Showing 241 to 270 of 443 << ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... >>
2

"Arriving was not a problem as we were directed to the area that we were most likely to find a space. On our return waited ages for the free bus and as there was a very long queue we walked with our cases to the car park. On our way out at the exit when we put our ticket into the machine and were asked for an extra £10.50. When we spoke to an operator we were asked to re insert the ticket and the barrier opened and we were on our way, but no explanation as to why we were asked for an extra £10.50 X 2 for both cars £21.00 good job we didn't pay when requested to do so!!"

September 17, 2012
5

"We were flying from Birmingham airport and I visited several different comparison sites looking for the best parking deal. I found the Airport Parking Shop site and was very impressed with it as it was very clear and comprehensive. I would also say that of all the sites I visited this one was showing the most up to date and best deals. I used this site to book my parking through Essential Travel on long stay car park 1. Very easy to do, fast, and safe. Had absolutely no problems with booking or with actual parking. Highly recommend both Airport Parking Shop and Essential Travel. Great service."

September 14, 2012
3

"It all went very well until I got home last night. When I put my ticket in the machine it said I owed £85 which I obviously didn't. I waited for ages having pressed a buzzer for the call to be answered then the guy on the other end needed my booking number which I had intended to discard in Waterford, Ireland some 10 hours earlier. I managed to find it and the barrier was opened so I was able to drive off. I still don't know what (if anything) I did wrong!"

September 13, 2012
4

"Stay Cancelled"

September 12, 2012
5

"Thank you for an excellent service and we are looking forward to our next trip when we can use you again"

September 11, 2012
3

"Automatic numberplate recognition did not work on arrival. We contacted the operator who told us to take a ticket. Upon return, we again had to contact the operator who let us through. This was not a good experience and we have not had problems at airport carparks before."

September 8, 2012
2

"Actually we did not have a good experience. Our car was not recognised on arrival and we had to call for assistance to give the ref no. which is in very small print and on our return we were told we owed £85! Having prepaid for parking we had to call for assistance again, locate our original paperwork to find ref no. again before the barrier would open. We also had to drive around, up and down lanes to find a space."

September 4, 2012
1

"The number plate recognition system did not work when I arrived. Returning the at bus stop 1 the bus driver told me that stop 10 was just up the hill. We walked miles in the rain to find our car. At the exit my card did not open the barrier. The display showed that I owed £106! The operator asked for my booking number which was somewhere in my luggage. The operator deserves a salary rise."

September 2, 2012
3

"After pre-booking online we arrived with plenty of time to spare. The ANPR didn't pick up our registration so had to press the button for a ticket.

The bus was very convenient to and from the terminal building.

On exit we placed the ticket in the machine which displayed us owing money. On pressing the button for assistance we were asked for our booking reference, I said we didn't have to hand but could give our registration, before I could read out our registration number the barrier lifted.


Thank You."

August 30, 2012
3

"Easy to book and locate. Didn't have to wait long for the bus service. Ticket barrier didn't work as advertised (automatically) on either entrance or exit. Parking was a challenge - spaces were hard to find and tight. Others had clearly given up and parked outside the marked spaces, closing off some through routes. There was an automated attempt to charge me £95.50 on exit for a pre-paid ticket."

August 26, 2012
4

"Close to airport. Easy to walk to terminal even with 2 kids in tow! Remember to write down where you park or you could spend some time trying to find your car again on return!"

August 24, 2012
4

"The automatic numberplate recognition system did not work which was a tiny problem but got sorted by pressing for the assistance. On the way out also needed assistance. But cost wise was very economical."

August 19, 2012
2

"My experience when exiting the Long Stay car park last night (12th Aug) was disappointing since after submitting the pre-paid ticket at the barrier, a demand for £106 fee was shown on the screen. It was only after an interrogation of my details via the intercom was I allowed to leave. This is not acceptable after a long flight with a claimed number plate recognition process present supposedly to make it easy and simple."

August 13, 2012
5

"Excellent, convenient, efficient service - would definitely use again."

August 12, 2012
2

"Good car park, normally book with NCP, no plate recognition did not work on way in or out and I had to press assistance button. This was an inconvenience I have not had before. Will pobably book direct with NCP again in future."

August 8, 2012
3

"Forgot to add that the "How to get there" details are not comprehensive enough. I came on M6 from south and wasn't sure which M42 to take (North or South) and there are no airport signs on the motorway at that point. I guessed South which turned out to be correct but the instructions from there were not detailed enough anyway."

August 3, 2012
3

"The automatic reader didn't recognise my car so had to open window and take a ticket and advise my booking ref number both in and out and both times it was raing heavily so was a bit of a pain. The car park is very full and you have to drive around for a while to find the area where there were spaces. There should be a sign on entry (maybe I wasn't looking properly because I was cursing getting wet!) directing you to a free section to save some time. The bus came within a few minutes and it was a short journey. Would use again and hope that the recognition camera is working."

August 3, 2012
2

"Ok. Tried to alter the entrance time as Ryan air changed the flight. It was a bit of a nightmare as essential travel told me to speak to NCP, NCP asked me to talk to essential travel.... took a long time to resolve. When exiting the car park we were told that we owed an additional £80, we didnt! This was resolved."

August 2, 2012
3

"Choose this car park as it was the nearest to the airport, and price was really good, plus it would make it easier and quicker to get home. Getting into the car park, was good, but when we came to leave, it was a different story, as our ticket was not recognised, this took approx 10mins to sort out, which we were not too happy about, as apparently, we told that travel essentials had not paid the monies over to the NCP car park, and another story we were told is that the system had not been updated, the staff involved were excellent, and did there best. All in all it took us a lot longer than we expected."

August 1, 2012
4

"Use of the car park was easy albeit obviously popular as a space was difficult to find. Buses were regular and clean. I will never book through Essential Travel again as they doubled the fee when I had to change the times by 2 hours and ignored my complaint email, even though their Ts&Cs say any change will not cost more than £5."

August 1, 2012
3

"Have used this service before and was faultless. Unfortunately this time upon exit my car was not recognised and I was asked to pay a further £85 ( really ) . After contacting staff via intercom I was left waiting for ages while not knowing what was happening . I of course was also blocking the exit for other users. Eventually barrier opened without Any explanation . Poor communication in my view. An apology would have been nice. Would I use again ? Possibly but I will look into alternatives."

July 27, 2012
1

"Very easy to book BUT not so easy on arrival at car park as they said it was not booked & did not recognise no. plate eventually man helped me but was close to missing my flight not good. On leaving more trouble as they said I had not paid & owed money not good eventually they let me out can't say I will use this method again too much hassle"

July 21, 2012
4

"The car park was pretty full & found it difficult to find a spot but did eventually. Bus arrived almost as soon as we had parked. Just missed a bus on return so had a little wait. Would use again"

July 11, 2012
4

"Easy and convenient. Vehicle recognition did not work but customer service sorted. Exit fee was in excess of pre-paid amount but was adjusted on pressing help button."

July 10, 2012
2

"Arrived at airport in good time, found car park easily. Number plate wasnt recognised, took a ticket but unsure what to do as thought this was just for the 15 min free parking so went back out of car park and pressed for another ticket!Attendant on foot not particularly helpful.Spent approx 40 minutes trying to locate a space, car park pretty much full. My partner had to walk around trying to locate a space. I feel this could be better managed. Would not park here again."

July 7, 2012
4

"We found the car park easy to find and eventually found a parking space. The shuttle bus was very efficient and we felt relaxed when we arrived at Departures.
We pre-paid which was easy by computer but noticed that we all had to call up the car park from the check out lanes as an outstanding bill came up on the screen. However,this was quickly sorted"

June 29, 2012
4

"On the whole a trouble free booking & parking service. The only problem was that they are extending the carpark and there were not enough clear signs to direct people to different areas. This resulted in a lot of us driving round in circles in search of an empty space, and several near misses as people ended up going the wrong way up the lanes."

June 29, 2012
2

"The prepayment system did not work. On exit from the carpark, I was asked to pay £53. I had to speak to an operator to gain exit without paying again."

June 24, 2012
4

"A very good bus service links this park to the terminal building and we did not have to wait long on either journey. Parking spaces are reasonably generous and the surface is good. We found it difficult to locate an empty space at first and spent a long and frustrating time driving around following a line of other vehicles, made longer by the building work which blocked off certain routes. I would like to see the system used in some other airports where cars are directed to zones which fill up in turn. The number plate recognition system worked well. I would use this park again as it is very convenient."

June 20, 2012
3

"Ncp did not know about the booking when I arrived. They asked me to park and it would be sorted when I returned.

On return when I went to exit the system advised that the parking was still outstanding.

Following a discussion with the exit staff it was sorted out!,,"

June 16, 2012